Administrative Leadership Changes at Adventist Colleges

(system) #1

The following is a list of administrative leadership changes at Seventh-day Adventist universities and colleges in North America. Information as available was taken from the institutions' websites and direct contact with them.

Andrews University • Japhet De Oliveira, now leader of Campus Ministries, was director of the Center for Youth Evangelism; Ron Whitehead, now full time in CYE, was executive director of the CYE and special assistant to the president for spiritual life. • The College of Technology was dissolved effective 2012. The former dean of the College of Technology, Verlyn Benson, was given a new title: assistant to the president/provost. • Emmanuel Rudatsikira has been appointed dean of the new School of Health Professions. • Stephen Payne will become the vice president for only the area of Integrated Marketing & Communication. Formerly, he served as vice president over two areas: Integrated Marketing & Communication and Enrollment Management. Randy Graves, former associate vice president for Enrollment Management, will now serve as vice president for Enrollment Management. The decision was made to divide these two functions due to the exponential growth Andrews is experiencing as a result of the integration of Griggs University.

Canadian University College

Adventist University of Health Sciences (Florida Hospital's University)

Kettering College of Medical Arts • No changes

La Sierra University • Norman Yergen, vice president for University Advancement; the former vice president was Jeffry Kaatz • Adeny Schmidt, dean for College of Arts and Sciences; the former dean was James Beach • Ginger Ketting-Weller, dean for School of Education; the former dean was Clinton Valley

Loma Linda University • Rachelle Bussell, senior vice president for advancement

Oakwood University • Dr. Carlton Byrd became senior pastor of the campus church, also brought the Breath of Life production center with him • Kisha Norris became executive director of advancement and development

Pacific Union College • Julie Z. Lee, vice president for marketing and enrollment services, will leave to work with Maranatha Volunteers International • Tim Mitchell, Pacific Union College Church lead pastor, will become campus chaplain at Mountain View Academy

Southern Adventist University • No major changes in leadership

Southwestern Adventist University • Amy Rosenthal will become the academic dean

Union College

Washington Adventist University • Karen Benn Marshall Ph.D, dean of the School of Health Professions, Science and Wellness, from being professor of the Department of Biology at Montgomery College Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus

Walla Walla University • Dennis Carlson, vice president for advancement, retired in January 2012 • John McVay, president, resigned to return to teaching at Walla Walla University • Ginger Ketting-Weller, vice president for academic administration, will become dean of the School of Education at La Sierra University • Ken Rogers, vice president for student life and mission, will become the youth and young adult director of the Southern Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists • Josefer Montes is the new dean of the School of Business

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at