Anna Knight and the Case for Reparations

On February 17, 2022, Southern Adventist University celebrated its 130th anniversary as an institution, claiming Graysville Academy as its first predecessor when it was humbly established at the corner of Shelton Street and Dayton Avenue in Graysville, Tennessee, in 1892. Less than a year later, however, the academy that would eventually be called Southern refused service to the first Black student to walk through its doors.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/11742
1 Like

I graduated from Southern in 1999. Oakwood is mentioned in the article and it is two hours away from Southern. Many Black students choose to attend school at Oakwood since the two schools are so close. White students at Oakwood represent 1.1% of the student body. Black students at Southern represent 8.9%.

White students at Southern represent 44.6% of the student body. Black students at Oakwood represent 78.5%. You can decide for yourself which school is more successful with embracing diversity.

3 Likes

It appears that the racism of the past is finished. Reparation talk of today merely opens graves that perpetuate the racism. In today’s world people are only viewed as people, regardless of ethnicity or financial classification. “Social justice” warriors are on a path to destroy the successes of hard workers, a path to weaken our society by lowering education standards, and a path to pound humanity with guilt as they have bought into the brainwashing of Marxism. Marxism is Godless and creates oppression and hatred.

1 Like

To declare that racism of the past is finished is ignoring the realities of today. To combine social justice and marxism is simply a fear tactic. Equality of life, purpose and future is what Christ taught and actively demonstrated to the people of His day, we can do no less. Take the fear and misinformation mongering away!

3 Likes