David Hamstra Responds to Aubyn Fulton on Religious Freedom Laws

(Spectrumbot) #1

I thank Spectrum for extending the opportunity to clarify my position with respect to Prof. Fulton’s response to my essay. A response to a response is a convention still found in some academic symposia but rendered largely irrelevant in this medium by comment sections. Nevertheless, I think it will be useful for readers if I highlight three ways Prof. Fulton either mischaracterized my thinking or misunderstood it due incompleteness on my part.

Legal Argument vs. Framework Argument

I am not an attorney and have not studied law, therefore I do not feel free to go beyond general comments on matters of law. I am a pastor, and my interest is in contributing to a framework my church can use to advocate in the public square for a just resolution to controversies that have bearing on religious liberty. I do not know the best way to implement that framework in law. Where Prof. Fulton represents me speaking to specific laws; I have been silent.

“Meaningful Involvement”

Prof. Foulton holds that I make the unfounded assumption that “everyone agrees that when a baker sells a cake to be consumed at a gay wedding it is a ‘meaningful involvement in gay weddings.’” To the contrary, I assume that not everyone would agree that to be the case. But religious freedom is founded on the assumption that as far as possible, we will protect conscientious decisions that do not accord with our own. It follows that someone who says they cannot be meaningfully involved in gay weddings for religious reasons ought to be allowed the opportunity to demonstrate how that involvement has meaning to them.