Difficult Conversations—in Adventism

Some years back, when my wife was training to be a mediator, she was introduced to a book titled Difficult Conversations. She found this material to be both excellent and more generally useful than being limited to a professional setting. The book considers how people, in various interpersonal contexts, can more productively approach issues that are really hard to deal with. These are difficult conversations because there is a high danger for discord and, thus, a big downside relational risk. Typically, we humans are seriously conflict-averse and thus too often allow simmering, unresolved problems to keep floating around forever. Because my wife was especially impressed with the book, she encouraged me to read it. I did and reached the same conclusion.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/12009
1 Like

You say that Adventists support “thought inspiration.” When I was a student at the SDA Theological Seminary in Takoma Park, Adventist supported what was claimed to be Mrs. White’s view: Inspiration was of “the men” who then used their own way of expressing it. Now the Fundamental Beliefs say that the Bible is “the written word of God,” and that it is “infallible.” If that is not total submission to the evangelical view of “verbal inspiration” I can’t find what else they refer to.

9 Likes

There’s nothing more to say than what’s been said before on these subjects. So, you just stay on the treadmill, or you become invisible within the SDA caste system.

6 Likes