Former Adventists Speak About Ryan Bell's Year Without God

(Spectrumbot) #1

The cover image for a former-Adventist Facebook group in which Ryan Bell is a participant.

We received the following statements from former Seventh-day Adventist Church members in response to the conclusion of former Hollywood Seventh-day Adventist Church pastor Ryan Bell's Year Without God.

Sergio S. Martínez - Student, University of Puerto Rico I had my own fallout with faith and I found I was happier outside of the church. I was a pastoral theology student in Puerto Rico's Adventist University, church elder, ADRA volunteer, teacher...I obviously preached. I dedicated my life to the gospel, but at some point the pressures of maintaining a certain lifestyle, maintaining a pristine image, tired me.

I realized pastoral work was not for me. I quit. Changed concentrations. I started to approach God from a non-Adventist theological point of view. Soon, it all fell through for me. By having a fallout of sorts with Adventist theology, my image of God also morphed. Eventually I left the church for good, and it's made me happier. I made my spiritual peace. Not unlike what he did, not unlike what he's going through. I simply decided spirituality, at least, Adventism wasn’t for me.

LouAnne Sluiter White - Registered Nurse, Aurora, Colorado To be honest I did not trust Ryan's motives in the beginning. Adventists are known for their dishonest approaches to get people to come to their prophecy seminars etc. and they are known for their "experimental churches" and other tactics to reach the "unchurched" so I was leary until after reading more of what he had to say and as time went on I began to feel that he was sincere because I could relate to many of his struggles. I will be interested to read his final decision. My guess is that he identifies strongly with Humanism.