Gil Valentine on Robert Pierson—Adventist Voices

In the first of a three-part series for the Adventist Voices podcast, historian Gilbert Valentine focuses his analysis on the main characters in Ostriches and Canaries: Coping with Change in Adventism, 1966-1979. For this conversation, Valentine explores the motivations and methods of Robert Pierson, General Conference president from 1966–79.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/11976
1 Like

I am now reading Gil Valentine’s book, just finished ch. 7. I am appalled, almost enraged learning what was going on at Andrews University in the years that I was a Theology student (1969-1972, in Brazil)! I can’t believe the ongoing anti-intellectualism forced by Pierson! The intellectual manipulation and attacks on intellectual freedom - it’s all just outrageous.

1 Like

I take it you do not believe in EGW. because this article would completely be against what she has written in her works.

Did you ever examine the DOCUMENTATION presented by Steve Daily in his last book, “Ellen G. White: a Psychobiography”?
This is a Y/N question, no comment expected.

1 Like

Thank you for recommending the book. I just read the Kindle edition. It was quite a lesson in SDA history. Well, at least ‘holy kissing’ is no longer a thing in the church.

1 Like

And Gil Valentine’s book is a must read. I am almost done with it. Nothing but ASTONISHING, and of course embarrassing for a “remnant church!” . The Pierson era is full of the most shameful events.

1 Like

That book looks interesting as well. I’ll look up the article on it that I saw on this site.

Have you read or heard anyrhing relating to the modern SDA church officially recognizing and admitting some of the problematic history from the early SDA church? The EGW estate website addresses some issues in a question and answer section but there are still issues unaddressed.