"Shrinking To Grow" — What Happened at Newbold College?

Newbold College of Higher Education—the official name since 2013—is very dear to me. In the early 1960s I spent two years at Newbold before I graduated with my bachelor’s degree in theology. Through the years I have come back numerous times to the beautiful campus near the village of Binfield, some thirty miles from London in the hilly county of Berkshire, to attend meetings and training courses and to participate in conferences. From 1995 to 2007 I served as a member of the Board of Governors of the college, and from time to time I taught an “intensive” in the theology department. I have kept myself informed about developments at Newbold, by consultingthe regular channels, and by getting the juicier bits of news from friends among the Newbold staff.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/11295

From all I know, Reinder Bruinsma has done a very credible, accurate, and fair job with his article. I must say that given the changes, however, few Americans will be attracted to that type of institution unless they are preparing for ministry. As it was, it was life-changing and prepared me for my life-long ministry—and I’m talking spiritually as well as academically. When I think of the professors who did the best job, such as Woodfield in English literature, Porter and Dorland in history, Schuil in biblical languages, Keough in Bible and theology, and Scarr in music—I presume none of them would now be hired at the new Newbold envisioned. I can’t help but mourn the passing. Larry Geraty (1958-1961)

9 Likes

As a layman of 50 yrs, my feeling is that pastors should be recruited from amongst lsymen in their mid-life who have shown spiritual commitment and anointing. Recruiting ministerial students at 18 yrs is a mistake.

4 Likes