Take a Break

Almost two decades ago I was a young lawyer who traveled the country giving seminars on religious liberty in Adventist churches. Often in those seminars we talked about the major LGBTQ+ issue of that day, same-sex marriage. Supporting the secular legal right for people of the same sex to marry usually shocked the audience and led to a flood of questions and commentary. During one such question and answer session, a lady flippantly said, “Well we don’t want to support them too much. It’s not like we want to march in a Pride parade.” Quickly I shot back – “Why not?” Stunned, she didn’t have a ready answer. More interestingly, no one else seemed to have one either.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/11261
9 Likes

i can’t either…in any case, the pride parades are about much more than LGBT concerns…it’s basically a gathering place for entire cities now, with everyone feeling free to be themselves…the pride parade in Toronto hit 2 million onlookers in 2019, and was a thoroughly exciting place to be…i always pass out glow tracts and egw material at these events…i find that pride parades, all over n. america, are an excellent opportunity for street evangelism…people are open to anything new, and different…

3 Likes

Thank you Jason Hines for a very positive piece about Pride Month —- unusual to read in a Christian publication.

However, I take an issue with your statement :

WE VALUE THEM ( gays ) AS MUCH AS GOD VALUES THEM, WHICH IS INESTIMABLE.

Sorry to disagree with you Jason, but God does not value a group whom He creates as same sex orientated ( without their consent nor input ) and then cruelly imposes LIFELONG LONELINESS and celibacy upon them. Furthermore He sadistically gives them the same hormonal / neurological sex drives as their straight siblings and cousins, while demanding a totally life long sex free existence.