The Gifts of the Spirit

What’s the difference between a gift and a present?

This is the question that I’ve been asking myself, for the past several years, every time my birthday or the holidays roll around. It is the question that exasperates my loved ones as they try to give me gifts.

Here’s my own personal definition: presents are something that I have specifically requested. I would like this shirt at Macy’s. I would like that item on Amazon. When the designated gift-giving day rolls around, I get to enjoy the present that I chose.

On the other hand, gifts are a little different. A gift is something that has been carefully selected (or made) by a loved one who knows me well. They took into consideration my taste, my preferences, my interests and chose something unique, something that I will treasure. I don’t have any idea what the gift will be until the day that I open it and revel in the gift and the gift-giver.

I wonder if my personal definitions of gifts and presents could apply to the gifts of the Holy Spirit. Part of the joy and wonder of the Holy Spirit’s working in our midst, is that the Spirit “decides who gets what and when.” (1 Corinthians 12:11, The Message) Part of the beauty of the gifts of the Spirit is that they can be revealed in the most surprising ways, by the most surprising people.

But have you ever received a gift that didn’t seem to fit you? Perhaps it’s the time you were given a gym membership for your birthday or a vacuum cleaner for Christmas and you thought to yourself, “What is this supposed to mean?” Most gifts are supposed to bring a sigh of recognition, that someone loves you and knows you well, and has gifted you with a gift that is just right. Yet, there are some gifts that are unsettling—to say the least.