The Unity of Music

I had been warned. Her husband was the church organist, so she naturally sympathized with his views on what was appropriate church music. I was a relatively new pastor, and one day she handed me a cartoon she had clipped out of a magazine. It depicted a white-robed saint amidst fluffy clouds, but this saint, newly arrived in heaven, looked baffled and confused because he did not know where to plug in his synthesizer. And that was just the point—there would not be any synthesizers in heaven. Reflecting on the source of the cartoon, I darkly wondered where one would plug in an organ in heaven. That cartoon epitomized the ongoing conflict over music I experienced in that particular church community. Someone had said that “music is the War Department of the church,” and based on my short experience with ongoing controversy over church music, I believed it. But why couldn’t music be the Peace Department of the church? Instead of driving people apart, why couldn’t music bring people together in unity?