To Dream It Up Again

“And you begin to lean against some longing till it shifts.”1

Few people set out to be professional doubters. The most famous Western example is Descartes, who resolved to question everything he thought he knew. He arrived at one indisputable truth: Cogito, ergo sum—“I think, therefore I am.” In the method he devised for learning, humility was central, along with the tolerant observation of others and a reliance on personal experience over the theories of theologians and philosophers.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/11258
6 Likes

Thanks Barry, for your many interesting and reflective columns. I hope that we will hear from you again.

When I was a student at the University of Calgary, in one of my classes, while studying/reading of the growing separation of truths of faith from truths of reason in the 17th century, I wrote a paper titled “Que Sais-Je?”. In it, I compared the philosophy of Pascal (Pensées ) with that of Descartes (Discourse on the Method) with regard to systematic doubt, faith, reason, truth, and God. I don’t have the paper handy but I remember it well and especially Pascal’s ‘thought’ that “reason’s last step is to acknowledge that there are an infinite number of things beyond its understanding.”

4 Likes

Ah, Pascal and Descartes—two worthy contenders! Pascal is endearingly passionate and yet shows such steely logic. Descartes is deceptively simple and yet so rigorous. But we do come to a point, if we recognize our limits, that we do have limits and from there we may become open to what lies beyond reason. Thanks for your comments.

5 Likes

Yes, both men with such intuitive and rational brilliance, from Pascal’s calculus and Descarte’s Cartesian co-ordinates to their writings as to how we can have certainty of knowledge and their meditations on God.