Viewpoint: Science or Scripture? A Pastoral Perspective

(Spectrumbot) #1

I am not a scientist or a theologian, so for the last few years I have been doing a lot of careful listening. What I have noted regarding the debate on science versus Scripture within our denomination is that a pastoral perspective seems to be missing.

I think most Adventists agree that there is no actual conflict between science and Scripture when both are properly understood. To paraphrase St. Augustine, “All truth is God’s truth.”1 Ellen White concurs. Her first line in "Steps to Christ" reads, “Nature and revelation alike testify of God's love.”2 Both science and faith are seeking for truth. Tension arises when current interpretations of scientific data cannot be neatly reconciled with current interpretations of the Scriptural text. What happens then? Obviously, more information is needed that will help us reinterpret the scientific data, or the scriptural text, or both. Adventists should be the most open to new ways of looking at things. Growing up, I heard our evangelists recruiting members from other churches with the promise that we will always be open to following the truth, wherever it leads.3

As a non-credal community of faith, we cannot say, “This is what we have always believed, therefore it must be correct, and we will never change our interpretations.” Several years after our disastrous General Conference Session in 1888, Ellen White wrote,

There is no excuse for anyone in taking the position that there is no more truth to be revealed, and that all our expositions of Scripture are without an error. The fact that certain doctrines have been held as truth for many years by our people, is not a proof that our ideas are infallible.”