What’s Happening to the Pastors?

Aside from growing up on a family farm, I’ve never worked at anything except being a parish pastor. When I studied for ministry I was motivated, as most of us are, by a search for answers to the disquieting questions in my own young heart. (Henri Nouwen had it right when he spoke of the “wounded healer” who heals others in the attempt to heal him or her self.) At the time, I didn’t know much about what it meant to be a pastor. I knew I’d be expected to study, preach, oversee church business, visit people in the hospital and in their homes, and tell others in the community our message—this last which, at that time in my life, seemed to me so flawlessly coherent that no one, hearing our theology from my lips, would be able to resist it.

I proved moderately good at some of these things, not so good at others. Being a pastor isn’t a hard job in the sense that work on a farm is hard. John Updike in one of his novels refers to it as a “curiously idle” profession, and indeed, you can put as much or as little into as you wish. (A church woman said to me once, “Could you come and help us clean up the store room on Wednesday? You’re the only man I know who doesn’t work.”) Most pastors are conscientious. Marry that with common sense, the ability to self-start, a bit of personal warmth, and a general acquaintance with Adventist points of doctrine, and you can survive and even thrive.