Why I’m Leaving the Church but Remain an Adventist

I’m a proud 4th generation Adventist, on both sides. I grew up going to Adventist schools, I graduated from an Adventist boarding school and college. I even managed to marry an amazing Adventist man. 

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://spectrummagazine.org/node/12090
5 Likes

I don’t understand when sda members present lgbt issues or women’s ordination as a “civil right”. Civil rights is the incorrect lens for these issues. We’re a church, we don’t make decisions based on civil rights.

We can deny someone a job because they don’t believe what the church believes. We can deny membership because someone is having premarital sex, which would not really apply to civil rights. We don’t deny people the right to vote because they’re having premarital sex. We make policy and decisions based on biblical standards on morals. I realize we may disagree on those interpretations, but judging biblical issues from a civil rights perspective cannot possibly work. We have faith based beliefs that we have every right to defend based on scripture, and “equality” as society defines it doesn’t apply. Can I complain because the church won’t let me be an elder even though I don’t believe in the sabbath or that Jesus is equal with God? No, they can and should deny me that privilege. It’s a church!

4 Likes