Why I Quit Pastoral Ministry

(system) #1

When I was seventeen, I decided that I wanted to be a pastor. Several important people in my life encouraged me in that direction, and I went to college to learn how. After graduating with a religious studies degree, replete with "expertise" in biblical languages, theology, ethics and Ellen White's writings, I spent two years in Bangkok, Thailand as a chaplain and Bible teacher before pursuing a master's degree in religion and ethics at La Sierra University. When I graduated from La Sierra, Southeastern California Conference hired me as a pastor. I was living the dream.

After four years as a pastor, most of them at the Azure Hills Church with an excellent group of pastors and a second-to-none assemblage of college students and young media technicians with whom I ministered, I quit pastoral ministry in October of this year.

Leaving work in arguably the best conference in the Adventist denomination was not an easy decision, but the deciding factor for me was the need for independence. During my time in ministry, I was constantly aware of the church's expectations on me. I felt as though there was an expectation that I would toe the proverbial party line, that some topics of conversation were off the table, and that I would represent the denomination's thinking in my interactions with my parishioners. Without anyone telling me in so many words, I had the strong sense that someone else had already set the parameters of my conversations for me.

When Spectrum offered me a full-time position managing the website, I jumped at the chance. My experience of Spectrum, since I first discovered copies of the journal in the stacks of Southwestern Adventist University's Chan Shun Centennial Library, was that it represented the Independent Voice in Adventism.